Looking Back – Winter 2016

Ice Hockey, 1964–65

(Photo: Roger Conant.)

Row 1: B. O’Neil, G. Kozak, J. Hurnowicz, M. O’Keefe, J. Fiacco, B. Williams. Row 2: Manager Coleman, M. Murphy, Manager Stephens, K. Howard, R. Ackland, A. Kramer, R. Priestley, E. Galvin, R. Douchette, P. Speros, Coach Bob Priestley. Row 3: B. Beany, C. Holden, R. Guillmette, P. Gallerani, A. Venenzia, B. Morse. Missing: G. Handley. (Photo: Roger Conant.)

After compiling a 13-8 win-loss record, the Norwich men’s hockey team (above) ended the ’64–’65 season as the No. 2-ranked Division II team in the country, and Head Coach Bob Priestley was named New England Small College Coach of the Year. This fall during Homecoming, the team was inducted into the NU Athletics Hall of Fame.

The induction ceremony took place October 4, 2015, in Plumley Armory. The 1979–80 men’s rugby team was also inducted. Individual 2015 inductees include Kurtis McLean ’05 (hockey), Hope (Moulton) Allen ’00 (basketball), Stephen Gabriel ’95 (football and baseball), Keith Egan ’90 (track and football), Dave Mathewson ’75 (ice hockey), Grant McLean ’70 (football), Carl Holden ’70 (football), George Kozak ’65 (ice hockey), and Leonard “Duffy” Ayers ’60 (skiing).

To find out how to nominate a team or individual, visit norwichathletics.com/halloffame.

The deadline for 2016 nominations is April 30, 2016. Primary consideration will be given to members of classes ending in “1” or “6.” – D.L.W.

Comments are closed.